Padloc Logo Docs & Resources

Trouble upgrading to Padloc 4

Upgrading to Padloc 4 should be easy and painless, but in some situations, things can get tricky.

Important: As long as you don't reset your password nor manually delete items or vaults, no data should ever be lost.

The main issues arise from the fact that Padloc 3 cannot deal with vault data once it has been accessed from Padloc 4, thus when you upgrade an account, you can no longer use older versions of Padloc. This will usually manifest as missing vaults or missing items.

Therefore, please make sure to update all of your apps to the latest version. You can find the latest releases on our downloads page. Alternatively, you can always use the web app.

Note: For technical reasons, the v4 update can not be installed via the auto-update functionality. Please download the latest version manually from our downloads page.

If there's any data missing on Padloc 4 and you have shared vaults, it's likely because someone on your shared vault is using a Padloc 3 app version, and you can temporarily look at legacy v3 web app to retrieve the data (that is a backup before the upgrade, and is not synchronized).

Please make sure everyone is only using Padloc 4 and if there'sā€‹ā€‹ any data still missing after that, you should be able to export the missing vaults from Padloc 3 into Padloc 4.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at support@padloc.app!